Best AI Dungeon Masters in 2026, compared

There is no single best AI Dungeon Master in 2026, and any list that gives you one is selling something. The category has split in two. Some products are story engines that write you anything and enforce nothing. Others run D&D 5e with real numbers underneath. If you want unlimited creative range, AI Dungeon is still the deepest well. If you want the fight on a grid, TableForge, RoleForge, Dungeons Deep and Rolegend's Virtual Tabletop all put it there. If you want to play with friends, The Endlessness seats seven, Friends & Fables, TableForge and LoreKeeper seat six, and Rolegend seats 6. This post says which is which, for every tool that the other "best of" lists name.
Everything below was checked on each product's own website in October 2026, and each claim links to the page it came from. Products in this category ship fast and change their pricing often, so treat the specifics as a snapshot rather than a permanent fact.
How these actually differ
Ignore the feature grids. Three questions separate these products, and almost everything else follows from them.
Who owns the numbers? When you swing at a goblin, either a deterministic system rolled the die and applied your modifiers, or a language model wrote a number into a sentence. The second group is far more flexible and far less like a game, because nothing in it can tell you no. Most marketing copy is deliberately vague about which side it is on.
Is there a map? Fifth edition combat assumes a grid. Some of these render one; most narrate positioning in prose. Neither is wrong, but they produce very different fights.
Solo or table? Some products are built for one player and a machine, some for a group who cannot find a human Dungeon Master, and a few do both.
The eighteen at a glance
| Tool | Rules underneath | Map for a fight | Players at one table |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rolegend | Game engine, D&D 5e | Virtual Tabletop | Up to 6, live or async |
| TableForge | Rules engine, SRD 2024 | Tactical map every scene | Up to 6, live or async |
| The Endlessness | SRD 5.2.1 | Not stated | 2 to 7, live or async |
| Friends & Fables | 5e-based tactical combat | Battlemaps | Up to 6 |
| LoreKeeper | Tactical combat | Not verified | Up to 6 |
| RoleForge | Rules engine | Hand-drawn maps, grid | Solo today |
| Dungeons Deep | SRD 5.2 | Grid | Party size not stated |
| InfinityDM | 5e SRD-style | Not stated | Shared table, live or async |
| AIDungeonMaster.ai | 5e combat, boundary not stated | Not stated | Up to 6 |
| MacerAI | SRD 5.1 | Copilot mode only | Party by invite link |
| AI Realm | SRD 2014 | Not verified | Up to 4 |
| StoryRoll | D&D mechanics | World map | Solo or with friends |
| wilds.ai | No ruleset named | Tactical grids | Up to 6 invited friends |
| Old Greg's Tavern | Original mechanics | Not stated | Up to 6 |
| Voyage | Each world defines its own | Not stated | Host and up to 4 |
| AI Dungeon | None stated | None | Not covered here |
| Hidden Door | Each world's canon | No battle map | Social games |
| ChatGPT and Claude | None | None | One chat |
Game engines for fifth edition
These keep the numbers in code, outside the language model, and they are the closest to a real table.
TableForge
TableForge puts the split in one line: "The AI narrates; the engine adjudicates." A programmatic rules engine handles dice, combat, conditions and spell slots, with real random number generation, and the rules source is the SRD 2024. Campaigns play solo, with one friend or with a group of up to six, in real time or async, and every scene gets an auto-generated tactical map with live token positions. In async play the Dungeon Master waits until everyone acts before it continues the scene.
The free plan is 60 campaign turns for up to 2 players. Paid plans run from Hearthfire at 14.99 USD to Legendary at 39.99 USD a month, only the host subscribes, and guests play free. Pick it for the most complete SRD 2024 claim in this list. Our TableForge comparison goes further.
The Endlessness
The Endlessness says it "runs complete Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition campaigns" and enforces the rules from the SRD 5.2.1, with "Every roll verified. Every modifier calculated." Its table is the largest here: "Two to seven of you in one story", played "live in one sitting, or a message a day across a week". Each adventure comes with a hand-drawn map of its world.
Pricing starts with a free plan of 20 turns a day, hosting included, then Adventurer at 9.99 USD and Legend at 24.99 USD a month. Pick it for a big group on the newest SRD.
RoleForge
RoleForge pairs an AI Game Master with a deterministic rules engine (its own copy says "The AI narrates the outcome but never decides it"), covering ability scores, skill modifiers, saving throws, advantage and disadvantage, and critical hits.
Then it puts a map underneath every scene. Hand-drawn maps with fog of war and darkvision, a tactical grid with distance calculations and cover objects, and the claim that it is "The only AI RPG where the map is part of the game". It is solo today with co-op multiplayer listed as upcoming, and it is "Free during alpha. Every feature. No limits." If you want a hand-drawn map under every scene, start here. Our RoleForge comparison has the detail.
Dungeons Deep
Dungeons Deep is in beta and takes an unusual position: "Adventures written by humans. Run by Artificial Intelligence." Rather than generating a campaign from nothing it runs authored modules, with "The Tomb of The Serpent Queen" featured on the front page. You can "Adventure alone or gather your party", the GM narrates in spoken natural language, and it has a grid and map system for combat. Its attribution notice cites the System Reference Document 5.2.
A written module has structure, pacing and a payoff that a model improvising turn by turn does not reliably produce. Pricing runs from 9.95 USD to 39.95 USD a month, with 75 turns for new players to try it.
InfinityDM
InfinityDM calls itself rules-aware, with 5e SRD-style mechanics where they apply: checks, DCs, advantage, combat state, HP and outcomes. You start solo or invite people into a shared table, and multiplayer turns move live or asynchronously, with a notification when a player needs to act. It has four modes (solo campaign, party table, tactical combat and a quick arena), and you choose a Dungeon Master personality and how strict its rulings are.
The free Explorer plan gives 20 adventures a day, and the paid tier is marked as coming soon, with no price. Our InfinityDM comparison covers the rest.
AIDungeonMaster.ai
AIDungeonMaster.ai, which also calls itself AI Game Master, claims "Full 5e combat with initiative, spells, conditions, and terrain" and memory that "Remembers every NPC, plot twist, and promise across sessions". You "Play solo or invite up to 5 friends", and a marketplace sells creator-built adventures. Its own guide says "the AI rolls for you", and neither that page nor its comparison post says where the language model ends and its rules engine begins.
The free tier caps you at 10 Dungeon Master responses a day, and paid plans are 9 USD and 19 USD a month. See our AIDungeonMaster.ai comparison.
AI Realm
AI Realm is built on D&D 5e SRD (2014) content, and its Player's Guide walks through a familiar character creation flow: roll stats between 3 and 18, reassign them to a class-recommended arrangement, roll hit points, then choose proficiencies, starting equipment and spells. You can play singleplayer, or multiplayer with up to three friends depending on your plan.
This entry is deliberately thinner than the others: AI Realm's site blocks automated fetching, so we could only verify what its indexed guide pages state, and we have not verified its pricing at all. Do not read the missing detail as criticism.
Built for a group of friends
These lead with the party. Rules sit underneath, in different depths.
Friends & Fables
Friends & Fables calls itself "The ultimate AI RPG platform for creators and adventurers", states it serves over 100,000 players and world builders, and runs campaigns through an AI Game Master named Franz. It supports asynchronous and simultaneous multiplayer for up to six players, and it advertises "Tactical turn-based combat based on D&D 5e rules. Battlemaps, spells, abilities, monsters, and more", alongside map makers, a lore system, text to speech with character voices, and image generation.
This is the most complete world-building toolkit in the list. If you want to build a setting and then let other people play in it, nothing else here is close. Pricing is a free tier at 25 turns a day with three-player campaigns, then Starter at 19.95 USD, Pro at 29.95 USD and Legend at 39.95 USD a month.
LoreKeeper
LoreKeeper is an AI virtual tabletop supporting solo play or up to six players per campaign, with tactical combat, a world builder, character sheets, AI portrait generation and session memory that persists across a campaign. Its own copy leans hard on continuity, using the example of remembering "your fear of dragons from Act I".
Its free tier is generous: 20 free turns every day with no expiry, one campaign and one character, and an explicit claim that it is "a real adventure, not a demo". Paid plans are Hero at EUR 9.99 a month and Legend at EUR 19.99. If you want multiplayer at a low entry price, look here first.
MacerAI
MacerAI has two modes: an AI Dungeon Master for one player or a party, and a copilot toolkit for a human Dungeon Master. It plays 5e-compatible rules from the SRD 5.1. Friends join free by invite link, each player posts an action and marks ready, and the host then lets the AI continue. Battle maps with tokens belong to the copilot toolkit, not to the AI Dungeon Master.
The free plan gives 30 credits a month, and paid plans are 9.95 USD and 14.95 USD. It is the one to pick if your group sometimes has a human Dungeon Master and sometimes does not. See our MacerAI comparison.
Old Greg's Tavern
Old Greg's Tavern pitches "No DM needed. No scheduling. No rulebooks." You start a solo adventure in seconds or invite up to five friends for free, on the web or in its phone apps. Its terms say the mechanics are its own, not a published ruleset. Pricing is in credits and rounds, from a 5 USD one-time pack to 25 USD a month. Pick it for the lowest barrier to a first session. See our Old Greg's Tavern comparison.
wilds.ai
wilds.ai calls itself "the AI Dungeon and Character.AI alternative that actually delivers". It is a wider platform than a Dungeon Master: you describe a world and it builds it, from TTRPGs with tactical grids to roguelikes with procedural dungeons. Its homepage names no ruleset. You can "Invite up to 6 friends with built-in voice chat, spectator mode, and turn management". New accounts get 500 free credits, and paid plans run from 9 USD to 39 USD a month.
StoryRoll
StoryRoll is in early access and pitches itself as "Your AI Game Master. Play solo or with friends. No prep, no rulebook, no experience needed." It advertises "Real D&D Mechanics" (dice rolls, ability checks, spell slots and combat initiative) alongside a tile-based world map with fog of war, AI-generated portraits and location art, and AI-generated session recaps.
The most immediately useful thing about it needs no account at all: a set of free GM tools including a dice roller, an encounter calculator and a spell slot tracker. Its upgrade page lists six free turns a day, or StoryRoll Plus at 9.99 USD a month for thirty.
Story first, rules optional
These put the story ahead of the dice. That is a fair choice, and for some readers it is the right one.
AI Dungeon
The original, and still the least like a tabletop game. AI Dungeon describes itself as a way to "create open-ended stories, explore interactive worlds, and guide every choice", with a large library of community-made adventures. It claims no fifth edition rules, dice or character sheets anywhere on that page. It is genuinely better than every product above at range: it will run a heist, a horror story, or something with no genre at all.
Its tiers are published: Wanderer is free, and paid plans run from Journey at 14.99 USD a month to Ultimate at 99.99 USD. Pick it if you want a story machine.
Voyage
Voyage comes from Latitude, the team behind AI Dungeon, and opened to everyone in an Open Beta on 26 August 2026. Each world defines its own traits, resources and triggers in Creator Studio, so there is no fixed race-and-class sheet. A host can invite up to four players, and only the host uses usage. DM Mode lets a person step in and run the NPCs. Every Latitude subscription covers both AI Dungeon and Voyage. See our Voyage comparison.
Hidden Door
Hidden Door is built around worlds with canon of their own. Its homepage says that "Every story turn is checked against the world's canon and rules before a player sees it", with examples such as a vampire who must be invited in. It names no dice and no battle map, and it lists social games with friends. Its pricing page offers "unlimited play across the whole catalog, free", with a paid Creator plan for people who build worlds.
ChatGPT and Claude
Two of the roundups list the general assistants, and plenty of people start there. ChatGPT is free to use, and its memory and Projects can keep a long game going. Claude has memory and chat search too. Both are superb improvisers. Neither has a part whose job is to say no: the same model writes the scene and reports the number, and OpenAI's own memory FAQ says the memory summary may omit details. Our ChatGPT comparison shows where a long campaign breaks.
Rolegend
Ours. Rolegend's Keystone Engine is a game engine, built apart from the AI. It handles the dice and the game state: every roll, modifier, hit point, condition, spell slot and item. ROWAN, our narrator, is handed each result and tells the story with you. It cannot change a number or roll again, so the roll exists before the narration does and the story has to live with it.
Rolegend's Virtual Tabletop puts a fight on a battle map, with a token for every hero and every enemy, and you drag yours to move. The engine enforces movement, difficult terrain, cover, line of sight, opportunity attacks, flanking, weapon ranges, light and fog of war there. Fog of war follows what your character can really see, so enemies out of sight stay hidden, and torchlight and darkness change how well you fight.
Play with friends. A host invites friends by link, and up to 6 players sit at one table, each with their own character. Play live when everyone is online, because the table updates every few seconds, or play async play-by-post and drop in whenever you want. In a fight each player acts on their own character's turn, and an email says when the table waits for you. Alone, you can run a whole party, with ROWAN playing the companions.
Nobody else in this list publishes that, so you can check exactly what "runs D&D 5e" means here before you start.
Which one should you pick
Not a ranking, because the ranking depends on what you are trying to do.
You want to write a story and be surprised, and rules are in the way. AI Dungeon for range, Voyage to build a world with its own systems, or Hidden Door for worlds that keep their canon.
You have friends and no Dungeon Master. The Endlessness for up to seven, Friends & Fables for the deepest world-building tools, TableForge or LoreKeeper for six, or Rolegend for a table that plays live together or one post at a time. The guide to playing D&D online with friends shows how a Rolegend table works.
You want combat that happens on a map. RoleForge for hand-drawn maps under every scene, TableForge for a tactical map in every scene, Dungeons Deep for a human-authored module on a grid, or Rolegend's Virtual Tabletop for fog of war and light enforced by a game engine.
You sometimes have a human Dungeon Master. MacerAI's copilot mode is built for that.
You want to try the idea without signing up. StoryRoll's free GM tools need no account.
You want the numbers true, with friends or alone, in short bursts. Rolegend: a game engine built apart from the AI, a Virtual Tabletop, structured state that survives a three-week gap, and a published list of exactly which rules the engine enforces.
Why play on Rolegend
- When your character acts, the game hands you the die to roll, and Keystone Engine adds the modifiers from your sheet.
- On the battle map, Keystone Engine enforces movement, difficult terrain, cover, line of sight, opportunity attacks, flanking and weapon ranges, and every player at the table moves on the same map.